Top 16: Interesting Facts About Ekiti State, Nigeria

Ekiti State is a small but vibrant state located in the southwestern part of Nigeria. It is known for its rich cultural heritage, natural tourist attractions, and numerous higher institutions of learning. Despite being one of the smallest states in Nigeria, Ekiti State has a lot to offer in terms of history, culture, and tourism. In this article, we will explore the top 16 interesting facts about Ekiti State that you may not know. From its landmass to its population, tribes, and tourism, we will delve into the unique features that make Ekiti State a fascinating place to visit and learn about.

Facts About Ekiti State

1. Creation Of Ekiti State

Ekiti State was created on October 1, 1996, by the military government of General Sani Abacha. The creation of the state was part of a nationwide restructuring of Nigeria’s administrative divisions aimed at promoting decentralization and regional development.

2. Ekiti State Border

Ekiti State shares borders with four other states in Nigeria. To the east, it is bordered by Ondo State, while Kogi State lies to the northeast. To the south, Ekiti State shares a boundary with Osun State, and to the north, it is bordered by Kwara State.

3. Ekiti Geopolitical Region

Ekiti State is one of the six states that make up the Southwest geopolitical region of Nigeria. The other states in the region are Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, and Ondo.

4. Ekiti State Capital

Ado-Ekiti is the capital city of Ekiti State. The city is located in the central part of the state and serves as the administrative, commercial, and cultural center of the state.

5. Ekiti State Slogan

The slogan of Ekiti State, “Land of Honour and Integrity,” was adopted in 2015 by the administration of Governor Ayodele Fayose. The slogan is meant to reflect the state’s commitment to upholding high ethical standards and promoting a culture of honesty and accountability.

6. Ekiti Main Religion

Christianity and Islam are the two major religions practiced in Ekiti State. Christianity is the dominant religion, with the majority of the population being members of various Christian denominations, including Anglican, Catholic, and Pentecostal churches. Islam is also practiced by a significant minority of the population, particularly in the northern part of the state. Traditional African religions are also practiced by some people in the state, especially in rural areas.

7. Ekiti State Landmass

Ekiti State is located in the southwestern part of Nigeria and is the 29th largest state in the country in terms of landmass. It covers a total area of 6,353 square kilometers, which is equivalent to 0.4% of Nigeria’s total land area.

8. Ekiti State Tourism

Ekiti State is home to several tourist attractions that draw visitors from within Nigeria and beyond. One of the most popular tourist destinations in the state is the Ikogosi Warm Springs, which is a natural wonder that features two warm springs flowing side by side without mixing. Other notable tourist attractions in Ekiti State include the Arinta Waterfalls, Fajuyi Memorial Park, and the Ekiti State Government House, among others.

9. Higher Institutions In Ekiti State

Ekiti State has several higher institutions of learning, including universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education. Some of the notable higher institutions in the state include the Federal University Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State University, Afe Babalola University, College of Education, Ikere Ekiti, Federal Polytechnic, Ado-Ekiti, and others.

10. Tribes / Ethnic Group In Ekiti State

The major ethnic group in Ekiti State is the Yoruba people, who make up the majority of the population. Within the Yoruba ethnic group, there are several subgroups, including the Ekiti, Ikale, and Okun. Other minority ethnic groups in the state include the Fulani, Hausa, and Igbo.

11. Ekiti State Population

According to the National Population Commission, the population of Ekiti State was estimated to be around 3.3 million people as of 2021, making it the 31st most populous state in Nigeria. The population of the state is concentrated in urban areas, with Ado-Ekiti, the state capital, being the most populous city.

12. Ekiti State First Democratic/ Elected Governor

The first elected governor of Ekiti State was Otunba Niyi Adebayo, who was elected on May 29, 1999, under the platform of the Alliance for Democracy (AD) party. He served as governor until May 29, 2003.

13. Ekiti State Number Of Local Govt

Ekiti State is divided into 16 local government areas, which are further divided into wards and villages. The local government areas in the state are Ado, Efon, Ekiti East, Ekiti South-West, Ekiti West, Emure, Gbonyin, Ido-Osi, Ijero, Ikere, Ikole, Ilejemeje, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ise/Orun, Moba, and Oye.

14. Ekiti State Number Of Senatorial Districts

Ekiti State has three senatorial districts, which are Ekiti North, Ekiti South, and Ekiti Central. Each senatorial district is represented by a senator in the Nigerian National Assembly.

15. Major Natural Resources In Ekiti State

Ekiti State is endowed with several natural resources, including granite, kaolin, columbite, and cassiterite. These mineral deposits have the potential to drive economic growth and development in the state if properly harnessed.

16. Prominent People In Ekiti State

Ekiti State has produced several prominent individuals who have made significant contributions to Nigeria’s development. Some of these individuals include Afe Babalola (founder of Afe Babalola University), Femi Falana (Erudite lawyer and human rights activist), Temitayo Adeniyi (popularly known as Shakyr, She is an actress, producer, model) and many others


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: